Change Location × Asheville, NC

    Recent Locations

      Masterworks 5: Kodály, Dvořák, Beethoven in Asheville

      • Masterworks 5: Kodály, Dvořák, Beethoven Photo #1
      1 of 1
      February 23, 2019

      Saturday   8:00 PM

      87 Haywood Street
      Asheville, North Carolina 28801

      Masterworks 5: Kodály, Dvořák, Beethoven

      The three very distinct composers presented on this concert all found great inspiration in connecting with their roots. Zoltan Kodály's Dances of Galánta are a collection of village dances reimagined as a symphonic work and transformed with colors of the modern symphony orchestra. Next, Alexi Kenney, winner of the 2016 Avery Fisher Career Grant, brings his unique perspective to Dvorak’s Violin Concerto — full of lyricism inspired by the rich Czech folkloric tradition. The concert’s centerpiece is Beethoven’s beloved "Pastoral" symphony, which was inspired by the composer’s love of the countryside.
      Kodály: Dances of Galánta
      Dvořák: Violin Concerto
      Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, “Pastoral”
      Mei-Ann Chen, guest conductor
      Alexi Kenney, violin

      Cost: Payment required - Single tickets for Masterworks concerts are $24–69, depending on seating section (reduced youth pricing is available).

      Categories: Performing Arts

      Event details may change at any time, always check with the event organizer when planning to attend this event or purchase tickets.
      COMMENTS ABOUT Masterworks 5: Kodály, Dvořák, Beethoven